First Impressions: Splat Washables Temporary Hair Dye

For as long as I can remember my family constantly drilled me. “Never dye your hair, Claire.” they’d say, albeit with good reason and intentions no doubt. I love my red hair; it’s totally unique and is a big part of who I am! However, there are some days when I want to step outside of my normal style scope and experiment a bit. I can’t very well bleach my hair and dye it; that’d be too damaging…hmm, what about washable hair dye? I didn’t even really know that was an option until I saw these at Ulta…

photo 4 (4)photo 5

Now I did know about hair chalk, but it was always hard for me to work with. I thought these would be a dream…

So I bought the shades Purple Swag and Hot 4 Pink. Each package comes with a 1.5 oz tube of color and an applicator which I strongly suggest against using (it pulled and tangled my hair!) So far I’ve only tried the pink shade, but I’ve tried it enough times to know how well it works. They also have a red and blue shade if that’s more your style.ย 

Here’s me with the pink shade:

photo 1 (5)photo 2 (5)

As you can see, the color is pretty vibrant, something I was a little worried about since my hair’s kinda dark. ย I was a little surprised with how long it took to achieve the color though – you’re supposed to drape a towel around you, apply the color, dry with low heat, and set with hairspray. It took me over fifteen minutes each time. For the future, I’m definitely going to just dye one streak, or just the ends of braids, pigtails, etc.ย 

Alright, let me get all my thoughts out in this handy list.

Pros: Vibrant color, washes out easily, cheap ($6.99), 3-5 good uses per tube

Cons: applicator brush hurts, makes hair crunchy (not easy to style), tends to bleed off even when set with hairspray

So that’s it! I hope this can help you make a decision if you’re debating it. And P.S – Definitely try something like this out before you full-on dye your hair, it could help you decide if you like it or not!ย 

As always, thank you for reading!ย 

Leave Me a Comment!

